Montego Scripts: Forums
 

 

View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Author Message
RaptureReady
Newbie
Newbie



Joined: Aug 26, 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 10:18 am Reply with quote

Hey all, I installed RavenNuke v2.20.01 and saw that it came with the HTML_Newsletter module already installed, but after activating it I click on the link and it goes to a screen that says *Unassigned*. I think click on the NewslettersAdministration tab and it loads, but with errors like some of the radio buttons are not showing and if I try and click on another link it just sits there while the progress bar moves, nothing happens.

What do you all think?

RR
 
View user's profile Send private message
montego
Site Admin/Owner
Site Admin/Owner



Joined: Feb 12, 2005
Posts: 1391

PostPosted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 1:55 pm Reply with quote

Sounds to me like this might have been a migration from a previous nuke install or maybe an upgrade? I suspect that the Newsletter tables are not there.

If this is a fresh install, had you skipped the Newsletter SQL step within installSQL.php?
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
RaptureReady
Newbie
Newbie



Joined: Aug 26, 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 3:13 pm Reply with quote

It is a fresh install of RavenNuke_v2.20.01. I cannot remember the newsletter part when I installed, but I looked at my tables and see the following:

_hnl_categories
_hnl_cfg
_hnl_newsletters

FYI, I followed the steps in RavenNuke76_README_FIRST.txt, which reads:

Code:

The HTML Newsletter from montego (http://montegoscripts.com) comes already
fully integrated into the core distro installation and therefore, for new
installs, no additional instructions are needed except what is already
provided in the RavenNuke(tm) distro "HowToInstall" manual.

The remaining files in this directory and below are the additional HTML
Newsletter module readme and installation files, including the installer,
and a few "extras", in case someone needs them.

THIS RavenNuke(tm) Readme file supercedes ALL other readme type documentation
in this distro unless otherwise noted here.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------
NEW INSTALLATIONS:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Do NOT use the installer or follow the instructions in the NEWINSTALLS.txt
file for the core RavenNuke(tm) distro installer already takes care of this.
This file is provided only to ensure all of the original author's work is
made available.


Is it possible to run the install.php file again and make sure all is well, or is there a easier way?

BTW, thanks for the help.

RR
 
View user's profile Send private message
montego
Site Admin/Owner
Site Admin/Owner



Joined: Feb 12, 2005
Posts: 1391

PostPosted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 10:51 pm Reply with quote

pretty sure as long as the tables are there, this should work, so now I am thinking you need to re-FTP all your files using a good FTP client such as FileZilla (free from SourceForge.net). This should work right out of the gate so to speak...

_________________
“To err is human, but when the eraser wears out ahead of the pencil, you’re overdoing it.”
-- Josh Jenkins 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
RaptureReady
Newbie
Newbie



Joined: Aug 26, 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2008 11:13 am Reply with quote

montego, I reloaded the files and still get the same thing, here is a couple of snapshots:

http://www.menofgod.us/error/nl_error1.jpg

http://www.menofgod.us/error/nl_error2.jpg

Maybe if your not too busy we can meet on msn messenger or our TS.

RR
 
View user's profile Send private message
montego
Site Admin/Owner
Site Admin/Owner



Joined: Feb 12, 2005
Posts: 1391

PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2008 7:44 pm Reply with quote

Ah, that helped, this is different. It looks as thought the advanced editor is not coming up. Do get a similar issue with the Submit News (not newsletter), or other content areas which use the editor.

Try in the newsletter configuration to turn off the use of the advanced editor and see if that fixes this. If it does, then we'll have to work through the issues with the editor rather than the Newsletter.

_________________
“To err is human, but when the eraser wears out ahead of the pencil, you’re overdoing it.”
-- Josh Jenkins 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
RaptureReady
Newbie
Newbie



Joined: Aug 26, 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2008 8:54 pm Reply with quote

Okay, when I click on Main Config or any of the links it takes me to that Redirect Loop page error.
 
View user's profile Send private message
montego
Site Admin/Owner
Site Admin/Owner



Joined: Feb 12, 2005
Posts: 1391

PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2008 10:37 pm Reply with quote

Please check within phpMyAdmin your nuke_hnl_cfg table, if wysiwyg_on is set to 1, modify that record to set it to 0 in order to shut off the editor.

Also, make sure ShortLinks is not turned on in rnconfig.php.

What is getting me is that this module hasn't changed in over two years, so it is quite stable and I've been running within RN for over three years. So, it definitely has to do with something in your environment or maybe your browser.

_________________
“To err is human, but when the eraser wears out ahead of the pencil, you’re overdoing it.”
-- Josh Jenkins 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
RaptureReady
Newbie
Newbie



Joined: Aug 26, 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2008 9:21 am Reply with quote

I turned off the editor in the table. Shortlinks was false.

Using IE I don't get the redirect loop, but in IE all I get when I click on a link is the status bar moving like it wants to open something, but it never does and the bar is full.

RR

_________________
Jesus Loves You! 
View user's profile Send private message
montego
Site Admin/Owner
Site Admin/Owner



Joined: Feb 12, 2005
Posts: 1391

PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2008 11:14 pm Reply with quote

I think it is time for me to look at your site if you do not mind. Unfortunately, I may need to whole kit and kaboodal, translation: an FTP id, nuke admin and user account, and possibly even control panel so that I can see the error log.

Please PM me this information if you wish for me to take a closer look at what you've got.

_________________
“To err is human, but when the eraser wears out ahead of the pencil, you’re overdoing it.”
-- Josh Jenkins 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
RaptureReady
Newbie
Newbie



Joined: Aug 26, 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2008 11:55 pm Reply with quote

okay thanks montego, PM sent.

_________________
Jesus Loves You! 
View user's profile Send private message
montego
Site Admin/Owner
Site Admin/Owner



Joined: Feb 12, 2005
Posts: 1391

PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2008 8:40 am Reply with quote

Just sent you a reply. Given the nature of the response, I kept it private.

_________________
“To err is human, but when the eraser wears out ahead of the pencil, you’re overdoing it.”
-- Josh Jenkins 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
montego
Site Admin/Owner
Site Admin/Owner



Joined: Feb 12, 2005
Posts: 1391

PostPosted: Fri Sep 05, 2008 9:12 am Reply with quote

I have spent nearly 1.5 hours on this this morning and for the life of me I cannot figure out what the heck is going on. I have double-checked most of the distribution files against yours and those check out. I tried deactivating some of your left-blocks thinking there could be JS conflicts (I put them back) - no dice.

I did notice that the help icons are not showing within the newsletter admin pages. There should be a red ! icon to the left of each and every field on each screen. The icon is there in the images directory, so there is some conflict going on somewhere or a server-side thing going on (maybe mod_security) that is rewriting the URL to remove the admin.php in front of the ?. (Did you notice that in the URL at the top? If you add the admin.php back in and hit enter, the page loads fine.)

I tried even renaming the tooltip .js file so that it would not load, thinking there was a conflict with other .js files that you have loaded, and, again, no-dice.

I am stumped and at the end of my rope on this one. It is a definite clue that the help icon does not show I think. It just smacks of a server-side setup conflict. Just wish that I knew what it might be.

I can honestly say that I have never seen this before nor had anyone ever post an issue like this and this is running on thousands of sites. Therefore, your search should continue on the server-side... sorry. Sad

_________________
“To err is human, but when the eraser wears out ahead of the pencil, you’re overdoing it.”
-- Josh Jenkins 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
RaptureReady
Newbie
Newbie



Joined: Aug 26, 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Sep 05, 2008 10:40 am Reply with quote

Okay thanks Montego for all your help. I think I will install RavenNuke[tm] Version 2.20.01 in another directory and see what happens there.

Again thanks for all your efforts.

RR

_________________
Jesus Loves You! 
View user's profile Send private message
montego
Site Admin/Owner
Site Admin/Owner



Joined: Feb 12, 2005
Posts: 1391

PostPosted: Fri Sep 05, 2008 7:50 pm Reply with quote

RN typically works out best at the root of the web site or a subdomain just so you know.
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:       
Post new topic   Reply to topic

View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2007 phpBB Group
All times are GMT - 4 Hours
 
Forums ©
linear-bunch