Montego Scripts: Forums
 

 

View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Author Message
Susann
Newbie
Newbie



Joined: Jan 04, 2007
Posts: 61
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Sep 11, 2007 7:30 pm Reply with quote

I used bold, colored and big text
and the title displays only the forums title and 1 word from the text instead of 3 words from the text message I used in my forum.
Anyone ever saw such a behavior ?
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Susann
Newbie
Newbie



Joined: Jan 04, 2007
Posts: 61
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Sep 11, 2007 7:35 pm Reply with quote

Is this a known bug with dynamic titles ?
Montego, I see you have exactly the same problem here.
Doesn´t show the word bold and colored I used above.
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
montego
Site Admin/Owner
Site Admin/Owner



Joined: Feb 12, 2005
Posts: 1393

PostPosted: Tue Sep 11, 2007 9:07 pm Reply with quote

Hhhhmmm, actually its my code at the very bottom of the script which is removing both bbcode tags and html.

The HTML one should be fine as it just strips the tags, but I'll log an issue for myself to revisit the bbcode tag stripping code.

Thanks for bringing this to my attention!

_________________
“To err is human, but when the eraser wears out ahead of the pencil, you’re overdoing it.”
-- Josh Jenkins 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Guardian
Site Admin
Site Admin



Joined: Jul 18, 2005
Posts: 401

PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2007 7:54 am Reply with quote

Ooh, nice catch!
Test coloured
 
View user's profile Send private message
Susann
Newbie
Newbie



Joined: Jan 04, 2007
Posts: 61
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 5:01 pm Reply with quote

My orginal dynamic titles I used the last 3 years didn´t act like this version I believe but I´m not sure.
Guardian a simple test with your nick colored and bold. Smile
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
montego
Site Admin/Owner
Site Admin/Owner



Joined: Feb 12, 2005
Posts: 1393

PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 7:23 pm Reply with quote

Susann,

I am pretty confident that the older DT script did not pull in the actual forum text. That was something suggested and "tweaked" by storebuilder afterwards and I took that and ran with it.

I am the one who added the bbcode stripper to the script after I added the forum text. It was, and still is, I think, the right thing to do, but my implementation is BAD.

_________________
“To err is human, but when the eraser wears out ahead of the pencil, you’re overdoing it.”
-- Josh Jenkins 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Susann
Newbie
Newbie



Joined: Jan 04, 2007
Posts: 61
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2007 6:45 am Reply with quote

Okay, but I would always use dynamic titles because its just better than the standard function in Nuke.
One more question I didn´t found an answer.
Why and since which version is in the forums beneed "Posted: Fri Jul 27, 2007 9:42 am" the title gone ???
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
montego
Site Admin/Owner
Site Admin/Owner



Joined: Feb 12, 2005
Posts: 1393

PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2007 10:06 am Reply with quote

Susann, I apologize, but I am not understanding your question. I see that exact text above each post even in this forum. I might not be understanding what the word "beneed" means...

_________________
“To err is human, but when the eraser wears out ahead of the pencil, you’re overdoing it.”
-- Josh Jenkins 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
montego
Site Admin/Owner
Site Admin/Owner



Joined: Feb 12, 2005
Posts: 1393

PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2007 10:08 am Reply with quote

Oh, wait a minute, are you saying the forum subject that is usually NEXT to the "Posted" or you could say "to the right of"?

That issue is not a result of the standard "Post Reply" of phpBB. It is an issue created by these "Quick Reply" mods. There is no subject line in the Quick Reply...

_________________
“To err is human, but when the eraser wears out ahead of the pencil, you’re overdoing it.”
-- Josh Jenkins 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Susann
Newbie
Newbie



Joined: Jan 04, 2007
Posts: 61
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2007 10:21 am Reply with quote

Ah I see. I only wondered because I had some older RavenNuke sites with the "title "right of to "posted by" and after I upgraded my own site from 2.0.17 forums version to 2.0.22 + RavenNuke it was gone.
So its an issue or an result of the Quick Reply mod.


Last edited by Susann on Sat Sep 15, 2007 10:24 am; edited 1 time in total 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
montego
Site Admin/Owner
Site Admin/Owner



Joined: Feb 12, 2005
Posts: 1393

PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2007 10:23 am Reply with quote

Your older posts should have still had the subject showing to the right. However, the problem starts as soon as the first post in a thread is made via the Quick Reply mod because then all subsequent subjects are blank.
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Susann
Newbie
Newbie



Joined: Jan 04, 2007
Posts: 61
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2007 10:26 am Reply with quote

Thanks, I´ll check my older forums entries.
Oh , so many things to check. I need holidays. Smile
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Guardian
Site Admin
Site Admin



Joined: Jul 18, 2005
Posts: 401

PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2007 2:54 pm Reply with quote

Pehraps I'm not understanding how this works but didn't we add some code to RN to ensure the subject line was auto filled with the previous post if the variable was empty?
Perhaps we added it to the main forum code but it's missing from the quicl reply MOD ??
 
View user's profile Send private message
montego
Site Admin/Owner
Site Admin/Owner



Joined: Feb 12, 2005
Posts: 1393

PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2007 2:56 pm Reply with quote

No, I had only fixed it with the DynamicTitles code. If the subject is blank, I keep working back until I get it.

So, no the Quick Reply mod is still going to create blank subject lines.

_________________
“To err is human, but when the eraser wears out ahead of the pencil, you’re overdoing it.”
-- Josh Jenkins 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Guardian
Site Admin
Site Admin



Joined: Jul 18, 2005
Posts: 401

PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2007 5:21 pm Reply with quote

OK I understand the issue now - thanks!
 
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:       
Post new topic   Reply to topic

View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2007 phpBB Group
All times are GMT - 4 Hours
 
Forums ©
linear-bunch
linear-bunch